This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Spain

Spain is made up of 20 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Spain. Information on all primary administrative regions in Spain.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Spain alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Spain

There are 20 regions in Spain in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Spain
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Andalusia Andalucía1.8,302,923Sevilla Sevilla703,206
Catalonia Catalunya2.7,475,420Barcelona Barcelona1,621,537
Madrid Comunidad de Madrid3.6,386,932Madrid Madrid3,255,944
Valencia Comunitat Valenciana4.5,094,675Valencia Valencia814,208
Galicia Galicia5.2,796,089Santiago de Compostela Santiago de Compostela95,092
Castille and Leon Castilla y León6.2,563,521Valladolid Valladolid317,864
Basque Country Euskal Autonomia Erkidegoa7.2,172,175Gasteiz / Vitoria Gasteiz / Vitoria235,661
Canary Islands Canary Islands8.2,103,992Santa Cruz de Tenerife Santa Cruz de Tenerife222,417
Canary Islands Canary Islands9.2,103,992Las Palmas de Gran Canaria Las Palmas de Gran Canaria381,847
Castille-La Mancha Castilla-La Mancha10.2,081,313Toledo Toledo82,291
Murcia Región de Murcia11.1,446,520Murcia Murcia436,870
Aragon Aragon12.1,345,473Zaragoza Zaragoza674,317
Extremadura Extremadura13.1,102,410Merida Mérida56,395
Balearic Islands Comunitat Autònoma de les Illes Balears14.1,095,426Palma Palma401,270
Asturias Principality of Asturias15.1,085,289Oviedo Oviedo224,005
Navarre Navarra16.630,578Pamplona Pamplona198,491
Cantabria Cantabria17.589,235Santander Santander182,700
La Rioja La Rioja18.321,702Logrono Logroño152,107
Ceuta Ceuta19.78,674Ceuta Ceuta78,674
Melilla Melilla20.73,460Melilla Melilla73,460