This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Spain

Spain is made up of 20 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Spain. Information on all primary administrative regions in Spain.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Spain alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Spain

There are 20 regions in Spain in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Spain
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Madrid Comunidad de Madrid1.6,386,932Madrid Madrid3,255,944
Catalonia Catalunya2.7,475,420Barcelona Barcelona1,621,537
Valencia Comunitat Valenciana3.5,094,675Valencia Valencia814,208
Andalusia Andalucía4.8,302,923Sevilla Sevilla703,206
Aragon Aragon5.1,345,473Zaragoza Zaragoza674,317
Murcia Región de Murcia6.1,446,520Murcia Murcia436,870
Balearic Islands Comunitat Autònoma de les Illes Balears7.1,095,426Palma Palma401,270
Canary Islands Canary Islands8.2,103,992Las Palmas de Gran Canaria Las Palmas de Gran Canaria381,847
Castille and Leon Castilla y León9.2,563,521Valladolid Valladolid317,864
Basque Country Euskal Autonomia Erkidegoa10.2,172,175Gasteiz / Vitoria Gasteiz / Vitoria235,661
Asturias Principality of Asturias11.1,085,289Oviedo Oviedo224,005
Canary Islands Canary Islands12.2,103,992Santa Cruz de Tenerife Santa Cruz de Tenerife222,417
Navarre Navarra13.630,578Pamplona Pamplona198,491
Cantabria Cantabria14.589,235Santander Santander182,700
La Rioja La Rioja15.321,702Logrono Logroño152,107
Galicia Galicia16.2,796,089Santiago de Compostela Santiago de Compostela95,092
Castille-La Mancha Castilla-La Mancha17.2,081,313Toledo Toledo82,291
Ceuta Ceuta18.78,674Ceuta Ceuta78,674
Melilla Melilla19.73,460Melilla Melilla73,460
Extremadura Extremadura20.1,102,410Merida Mérida56,395