This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Spain

Spain is made up of 20 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Spain. Information on all primary administrative regions in Spain.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Spain alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Spain

There are 20 regions in Spain in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Spain
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Andalusia Andalucía1.8,302,923Sevilla Sevilla703,206
Aragon Aragon2.1,345,473Zaragoza Zaragoza674,317
Asturias Principality of Asturias3.1,085,289Oviedo Oviedo224,005
Balearic Islands Comunitat Autònoma de les Illes Balears4.1,095,426Palma Palma401,270
Basque Country Euskal Autonomia Erkidegoa5.2,172,175Gasteiz / Vitoria Gasteiz / Vitoria235,661
Canary Islands Canary Islands6.2,103,992Santa Cruz de Tenerife Santa Cruz de Tenerife222,417
Canary Islands Canary Islands7.2,103,992Las Palmas de Gran Canaria Las Palmas de Gran Canaria381,847
Cantabria Cantabria8.589,235Santander Santander182,700
Castille and Leon Castilla y León9.2,563,521Valladolid Valladolid317,864
Castille-La Mancha Castilla-La Mancha10.2,081,313Toledo Toledo82,291
Catalonia Catalunya11.7,475,420Barcelona Barcelona1,621,537
Ceuta Ceuta12.78,674Ceuta Ceuta78,674
Extremadura Extremadura13.1,102,410Merida Mérida56,395
Galicia Galicia14.2,796,089Santiago de Compostela Santiago de Compostela95,092
La Rioja La Rioja15.321,702Logrono Logroño152,107
Madrid Comunidad de Madrid16.6,386,932Madrid Madrid3,255,944
Melilla Melilla17.73,460Melilla Melilla73,460
Murcia Región de Murcia18.1,446,520Murcia Murcia436,870
Navarre Navarra19.630,578Pamplona Pamplona198,491
Valencia Comunitat Valenciana20.5,094,675Valencia Valencia814,208